Facebook is ending face recognition, will delete all user data

Facebook has announced that it will shut down its social network’s Face Recognition system as part of a company-wide effort to limit the use of facial recognition technology in its products.

First introduced back in 2010, the company’s Face Recognition feature allows users of its social network to automatically tag photos with their friends’ names. While the feature was enabled by default at launch, the company reversed course and made users opt-in to use it in 2019.

Facebook’s change will represent one of the largest shifts in the use of facial recognition technology as more than a third of its daily active users have opted in to use Face Recognition. As a result, the company will delete more than 1bn of its users’ individual facial recognition templates.

While Facebook has decided to shutter its Face Recognition system, VP of AI at its new parent company Meta, Jerome Pesenti explained in

Read More